• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

"Drilling Down" with CC3 and LunarCell

Hi everyone. Recently I've become re-interested in Traveller and in particular, mapping & design. There's a lot of options out there, and after some experimentation I got myself LunarCell and Campaign Cartographer 3 to generate my Traveller maps.

Well, the thing is, "drilling down" with these tools can be a bit difficult, confusing, and frustrating. Not to mention doing maps at all, let along moving from World Hex to Terrain Hex to Local Hex.

So, after some experimentation, I think I found a way that works for me. I thought I would share this information with this forum for any who may want to try their hand at it, but are finding things difficult.

I should say in advance I'm not an expert in these programs. I'm sure there are better or more efficient ways to do things than I will show you. And there are some limitations, I'm sure, too. But what I have here is a start that others might find useful. I welcome comments or suggestions for how to improve this process. Also, much of what I show here was shown to me by others on this board and elsewhere. I take no special credit for this process, just share what I have learned, organized into one place.

Making the Planet
I like LunarCell to make my planets. I got Fractal Terrains with CC3 but LunarCell's planets are just more beautiful IMO. Plus LunarCell is a plug in for Photoshop, PSPro, GIMP, etc. So, let's make a planet. I give you the system Ixamplar, B-768622-9.

I save this view to make player handouts. But we need to convert this sphere into a isocohedron. Fortunately LunarCell and the other addon Flexify, will do this for us. From the LunarCell window, render the planet in "Map Color."

Now, run Flexify, and set it to convert from "equirectangular" to "isomap".

And here are the results: