• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

For those who are wondering...

(This is not an advertisement, it is an explaination).

The program that I have been using for over ten years now is called Neopaint by Neosoft. Last time I checked it was going for about fifty dollars US. It's really nothing more than an over blow MS Paint program. It has several features which make it more robust than Paint but you can do what I do, if you are famliar with MS Paint.

Now here are a few tips on making your own starships designs. (I've explain these things is bits and pieces across several threads.)

1: Set your scale. I use 15 by 15 Pixel scale for all my drawing. I also have 3 Standard room sizes which I can fill with bits and pieces to make it look like something you can find on a starship. You don't want to go to small or too big, you lose detail and most of them won't print out. Or the user will have to cut and paste in sections to maintain the aspect ratio of the drawning.

2. Keep everything you draw. You don't know what piece or concept you started maybe used or inspire your next drawing. I've been tinkering around with designs for 10 years now I have over 1500 files in 27 different folders. Some are pictures of starships I've downloaded off the internet for inspiration, the majority however are drawing I've created. I've got maps, pictures (none on the par of those I've seen here, my brother was the artist, I'm just a mechanical drawer.), symbols, languages and other misc.