• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Full auto 50 cal rifle

Blue Ghost

SOC-14 5K
Knight
Apparently the Hungarian GM6 Lynx is a "full" (read that as semi-) auto "sniper" rifle that can be fired in a very slow full automatic mode. I've not seen this anywhere in any game, and only stumbled across it earlier today when looking for more vids on body armor.

I'm not an expert on guns, and not really into weapons other than for game purposes, and as such this strikes me as being a rather interesting addition to this game.

Anyone with any thoughts?

There's footage on YouTube of what appears to be a US Soldier lying on his stomach with the thing holding the trigger, and the weapon firing one round after another, albeit slowly. Other footage shows the firers pulling the trigger for each shot, but pulling the trigger in relatively quick succession for each shot. It's like something akin to firing off several rounds from an assault rifle in semi-automatic mode. It's pretty interesting stuff.

I don't know, I'm no expert on weapons so maybe I'm not interpreting the footage correctly, but even if it is semiauto mode it looks like an interesting weapon to have on the battlefield.

Apparently the Hungarian GM6 Lynx is a "full" (read that as semi-) auto "sniper" rifle that can be fired in a very slow full automatic mode.
Yea, it's not any of these.

It's a bull pup semi-auto .50 cal anti-material rifle. That is, it's designed to shoot at trucks and jeeps.

It's also not a "sniper" rifle, as it's not really a precision rifle. All rifles strive for some level of precision, some rifles more than others. And this isn't one of them. A scope does not a "sniper" rifle make. Specifically, bull pup designs tend to have rather bad triggers, which is a key component to marksmanship. But when your target is a jeep, it's less important.