• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Imperial Authority

LeperColony

Traveller Card Game Dev Team
Does the emperor have authority over an ordinary resident of the Imperium?

Suppose I am a resident of a typical planet in the Imperium. This planet has its own World Government, to which I am subject. There are also various Imperium-wide regulations (nuke ban, psionic ban, etc) that I must also obey. But do I owe direct allegiance to the emperor? Am I bound to obey his specific commands?

One day I am minding my own business, crossing the street. The emperor is touring my world, and he orders me to carry his suitcase.

Do I have to?

Depends on the world, and the sort of man the Emperor is. If it's a high Law Level world where the Imperial nobility is closely aligned to the planetary government, then I think it would be possible.

Lucan in the MegaTraveller continuity would try to order people anything, if he ever left the Palace. Strephon, I don't think so, as he's generally written as a Good (or at least decent) Emperor.

With the nature of the Imperium, and how chains of command work, I would say the only people who owe direct allegiance to the Emperor are military personnel, the nobility, and the Imperial bureaucracy.

Generally, I don't think the Emperor would give that sort of order to a citizen. Odds are there are enough footmen/servants travelling with him to avoid this situation.

Generally, I don't think the Emperor would give that sort of order to a citizen. Odds are there are enough footmen/servants travelling with him to avoid this situation.

That's not the point. The question is can he? What sort of authority does he have over an individual civilian who doesn't live on a planet governed by the Imperium?