• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

T5 Only: CT Ships are Luxurious

robject

SOC-14 10K
Admin Award
Marquis
CT ships can of course be used as-is in T5 games. Usually a ship is a box that carries players and stuff around.

When a CT ship intersects T5 rules, you have to make decisions. One reaction is to port the design. In my mind, though, CT ships are close enough to T5 ships that you don't necessarily have to do that. I think you can make some safe assumptions about the operational bits that CT designs lack.

I've been porting CT designs to T5 for ten years now. Ten. Years. And I'm happy to say that I'm making fewer errors than before, thanks to rules revisions and people like AnotherDilbert and Craig Glesner -- both of whom are ACS Geeks, but also annoying when they challenge and correct my faulty view of shipbuilding rules. Yes you guys can be obnoxious -- you know that, don't you? Nevertheless, you're helpful, so thank you.

As I go along, I make assumptions about ships designed using CT. T5 has about the level of detail as MegaTraveller (that was the intent). This means CT ships imply equipment that is spelled out in T5 ships. So here are my rules of thumb.

Basic Principle: Well and Expensively Designed

The basic principle in using or porting CT ships with T5 is that these ships are well designed. When there's an option, take the expensive, quality one.

A. Spacious Bridges

Unless otherwise obvious, CT ships have spacious bridges. In T5 this confers an operational bonus.

B. Landing Equipment

I figure the landing equipment depends on the hull type. If it looks like an airplane, it has wheels and needs a landing strip. Else, if it can still land, it has landing legs -- and yes, this would cost money and volume in a T5 design, but CT ships are Well and Expensively Designed.

C. Armor = TL