• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

BCS: Don's Brainstorm for December 1, 2015

robject

SOC-14 10K
Admin Award
Marquis
Don McKinney said:
Marc would look at each space TL, from TL6 to TL16, and consider the following:

Armor (types, varieties)
Main weapon (a spine if big enough)
Secondary weapons (usually bay weapons)
Tertiary/defense weapons (usually turrets)
Common strategies available at that TL

This will be useful because then the group can discuss how Marc's vision and design map to the T5.09 rules, and where adjustments are needed. Then we can look at strategies against other TLs, and at that point, at least my reservations about T5.09 should be dealt with.

That calls for a spreadsheet at the least.

How would YOU approach this task?

I'll start by turning it on its head, and addressing the SUBJECTS one by one. I am NOT an expert at big ship design and combat, so I hope to learn things from some of you out there.

And I'm going to use TL 7-17.

Armor

T5 armor has two characteristics. First it has a rating that's more or less similar to HG2 Layers. The Armor Value is generic enough to simply be equal to # Layers x TL.

Secondly, though, there are armor types and coatings which enhance or target specific protections. One listed armor type is TL dependent: Charged armor shows up at TL13. The rest appear to be generally available to any TL -- their effectiveness is dependent upon the TL itself.

I suspect Don was thinking about these types and coatings.

The dominating feature for capital ship design is the specific damage type for which armor is designed (blast, kinetic, EMP, and Radiation). While the general armor value is # Layers x TL, the specific damage protection is a hundred times this.