• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Concept for triple missile launcher

wbyrd

SOC-13
triple_missile_turret_by_wbyrd-d9i1r4y.png

I have been working to polish my work, and part of it was creating components for my other work.So I set down and designed a series of turrets. I went with canister styled launchers since turrets house a ton of missile internally.

a simple rail launcher could be used, with a reload system to cyclpe new missiles into place, however I was inspired by the TOW missile launcher on an old M-113 anti-tank vehicle. That and the Rolling Airframe Launchers.

I wanted it to be able to fold down out of the way, elevate, and then cycle into a loading position.It took some time to get it worked. There are some problems with it but I am no engineer.

I built the model in several sections, so it can be animated, if i ever get that good :D

Here's the fluff text.

Missiles are one of the standard weapons of most forms of modern combat, they deliver a powerful, accurate punch at great distances often able to inflict critical damage on any but the most heavily armored targets. Using a wide variety of warheads, seekers, propulsion, and guidance systems, missiles are flexible, energy efficient, and powerful weapons. when combined into multi-launcher batteries they can send waves of lethal ordnance at an enemy that may be hard pressed to defend against the incoming fire.

The missile launcher can be attached to other weapons mounts, including laser, sandcaster, and particle weapons, as well as ballistic turrets. combining weapons in a single mount do give extra flexibility on ships with limited hardpoints, however the most powerful arrangements combine missiles into a single battery.