• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Game kick-off--criticism wanted

This is a game intro I wrote for a game on Yahoo that never got off the ground. The players kept bailing before I could get started and I just pulled the plug.

Please review and let me have suggestions for how to improve.

I will start at the beginning, usually a pretty good way to get started with any story...

I had been in the navy for 12 years, and the Fifth Frontier War had been going hot for the last 3. I was the pilot on the Ember, yet another Fiery class assignment for me, and had just made Chief. I had been putting in OCS applications for the last 6 years, but kept getting enlisted promotions instead.

Anyhow, we were on convoy duty and had just reached Collace when the Lt Commander running the convoy called all officers to the High Port for a conference. He was always doing things like that. That was when the Swordie Raider Cruiser attacked.

One fight, one ruined Ember, and one badly damaged leg later and I was the hero enlisted captain who struck the death blow on an enemy cruiser. I heard the cheers for a week before they froze me in low and shipped me for a rebuild. Once I got unfrozen at Trin they fixed my leg-- mostly before it started hurting again. That was when I got the good news.

The nobles were trying to rally the common people by rewarding the working Imperial military men and women. One of the ways was that on Trin they picked eight enlisted heros (like me) to get an SEH, a commission, and a domain knighthood all at the same time. I was pretty pumped. Of course, by then the war was going our way, but when the suggestion had been formed far away and a year before it hadn’t been.