• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

New to Travaller and looking for some suggestions...

Hello to everyone!

I'm new to travaller...I picked it up to help suplement a different sci-fi game (I run a sci-fi LARP using nWoD rules) but was in desperate need for one thing....a good ship system!

I found that in travaller and found that little tweaking was needed with the ship construction itself, just how the data was interpreted.

One thing that's kinda crashing though is how expensive ships are.

I love travaller and plan on getting a tabletop game together to actually play it...but how are PC's really supposed to afford any of these ships unless it's leased to them in their line of work or it's stolen?

So my main thing here is this; anyone got some suggestions for lowering costs that don't break the ship construction system? I'm mainly looking for the small craft and lower-end of the middle class of ships to become cheaper while the larger and (obviously) caps stay expensive where the players would need to really work towards them if they ever really became obtainable.

Second, has anyone done a good system for shields? I know High Guard has the black globe generators, but it's not exactly what i was really looking for.

Third, anything good software for mapping and putting together travalelr ships specifically? I have Campaign Cartographer 3 and Fractical Mapper 8 and know I can do deckplans in them...just didn't know if there was anything more specific.

Thanks for any help and I look forward to browsing around in these forums. Travaller is a game I always heard about but never really jumped into. Looking forward to it :)

...but how are PC's really supposed to afford any of these ships unless it's leased to them in their line of work or it's stolen?