• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Question about the nature of Worlds

Captain

SOC-2
Though I've been roleplaying off and on for over 30 years, I am quite new to Traveller. I know of it, but never GM'd it, and I think I've been a player less than half a dozen times.

How are worlds described, what is the nature of the habitat and inhabitants? For example, I get the impression that, if the players touched down on a water planet or a desert planet, then the whole world would be entirely made up of water or desert (or at least 90%), with pockets of civilisations dotted around the globe. This makes it a lot easier to game.

I'm sure there are some worlds that would have a make-up as diverse as planet earth's, but am I generally correct?

Though I've been roleplaying off and on for over 30 years, I am quite new to Traveller. I know of it, but never GM'd it, and I think I've been a player less than half a dozen times.

How are worlds described, what is the nature of the habitat and inhabitants? For example, I get the impression that, if the players touched down on a water planet or a desert planet, then the whole world would be entirely made up of water or desert (or at least 90%), with pockets of civilisations dotted around the globe. This makes it a lot easier to game.

I'm sure there are some worlds that would have a make-up as diverse as planet earth's, but am I generally correct?

Each world has a list of attributes that will tell the GM what it is like. Look at the size, hydro, atmosphere, population and TL. That will give you a rough idea of what it is like. Government and law level will tell you how the society is run. Earth with 7 billion people size 8 and 70% water is sparsely populated with ~85% of the population living within 150 miles of an ocean or sea.

@Captain, It all depends on you and your players' expectations.