• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Range Bands

ovka

SOC-12
I'm not a big fan of range bands. They are great for some things. They make a lot of sense with electronic sensors, biological senses (vision, hearing, smell), and weapon ranges.

They work OK for straight line movement, though expressing speed as range bands seems a bit wonky. Non-linear movement causes a problem with range bands.

Moving between orbits using range bands feels wrong to me. I studied it, and understand why it works, but every time I want to use it, I have to study it again to make sure I understand it. Then I have to explain it to my players. I could just dispense with mentioning the range bands to them and tell them it takes a standard x minutes to get from point A to point B. Unfortunately, at some point they want to know which side of the star the two planets are on, and why the travel time doesn't change the way they think it should.

I think that could be resolved using hex movement. The number of hexes from point A to point B becomes the number of range bands for sensors (biological and electronic) and weapon ranges. Then, non-linear movement makes a bit more sense (to me, YMMV).

Traveller already has hex movement for jumps, and it uses hexagons for world mapping. Expanding this to combat movement, and deck plans seems (to me) like a logical step. The next step would be to expand this to in-system travel and space combat.

Thoughts? Am I the only one that has trouble using range bands? (Full disclosure, I liked the vector movement used by CT-B2 space combat, though hex or square grid movement always made more sense to my players. I didn't like the range bands, even back when CT was shiny and new).

Cheers,

Baron Ovka

Range bands for space combat don't work for me either. OK, it makes sense for a single craft approaching a planet, or for a two-craft pursuit.