• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

General Role Playing NPCs

coliver988

SOC-14 1K
Baron
While I can usually manage to at least fake it for a single NPC at a time, as a referee I often have to manage multiple NPCs. And quite often there needs to be some sort of tension between these NPCs for the players to figure things out and drive the story a bit.

For instance, I am starting up the sequel to the last game I refereed, and there are 4 NPCs, 3 of which are complicit in basically hijacking the characters (this started from a predefined adventure that I moved to MTU, but the plot and characters were right out of the book). We'll be picking up on the trip back to the port in a Scout ship, so there is little chance of evading anyone as there are about 8 or so people crowding the craft.

Last time I ended up pre-writing most of the dialog: I am not adept at accents or improv, so I fear that what should be role playing ends up being a monologue.

Any suggestions on handling multiple NPCs at once would be greatly appreciated.

It might help to assign in your mind different actors that you know and like. Don't tell the players this, of course. But, in your head, one NPC is played by Jack Nicholson, another is played by Sandra Bullock, a third is played by Sean Connery, and the last one is played by Nicolas Cage.

When you play the NPC, put the appropriate actor in your mind and play him. Chances are, your players will not recognize that you are copying real actors. And, each one you play will come off as different.

Try to pick actors who are very different with their expression. Also, actors with strong personality are what you want. Ji-ji-ji-Jimmy Stewart, ah, yeah, with his stutter. Someone very different than Jimmy is Sylvester Stallone, playing Rocky or Rambo. Sullen faced. Doesn't say much. Dead pan. "Go for it."