• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Vector tracker screen shot

AndyW

SOC-9
A screen shot of my work in progress. It's plenty buggy yet, but much of it works OK, it only gets dodgy when zooming in close.

In its present form, it handles ship maneuvers in 3D, but only displays in 2D (viewing the x/y plane from "above"). Damn it, Jim, I'm a farmer, not a programmer...

System details are supported, with the Sol system presently used to beta test the code. I anticipate being able to create other systems that can be loaded from a file library.

Planets and stars will exert gravity on the ships, though planetary orbits are not determined by gravity, but rather from the system data. If you notice from the screen shot, all units but one are destroyed. That is because they started near to the Sun, at or near zero velocity, and I did not attend to their upkeep, being too busy getting Crotalus to Earth. The Sun took care of that for me... Well, losing that Tigress put a crimp on the military budget, but what can one do? ;)

As the shading (which can be turned on/off) indicates, the Crotalus is clear of the 100 diameter jump limit.

Other display gems are the azimuth ticks shown, as well as an inclinometer, and ranging bands, which are presently off.

Any un-destroyed vessel can be selected as the POV unit, which is then centered on the sensor screen, and the screen resized to include all units in play. Zoom functions will overcome that default setting.

The most recent source code is hosted at QB64 forum in the 'Programs' section under the title "WIP: Dog fight in space...sort of..."

You'll need QB64 to run this.

CTvector6.jpg