• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Vote Your Canon #2: Xboat Route Skipping? (no clear consensus)

Can Xboats Skip Systems?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
So as to the idea that areas can on occasion be skipped, I actually think would require more than a simple I am an agent and need your boat.
Literally skipping a stop? Not likely. Any rush priority commandeering of an XBoat would just use one of the maintenance spares.

I'm pretty sure the question here is whether XBoat message traffic can either:
1) traverse strings of short jumps through adjacent worlds at J-4 speed; that is, messages are sent to the intermediate worlds but are also relayed onward at higher Jn when possible, (see my post upthread at #9) and/or
2) cross between two worlds on different branches an XBoat route that do not have a declared route between them.

XBoats not only "can skip" intervening systems, but I would argue that they do so on a regular basis.

Here is a map showing all of the possible destinations within Jump-4 of each world on the Express Network within the Jewell, Vilis, Regina, Lanth, Aramis and Rhylanor subsectors.

bXC51xI.jpg

Worlds with 5+ systems on the Express Network within 4 parsecs (exclusively within the Spinward Marches):
  • Efate/Regina (5)
  • Boughene/Regina (5)
  • Feri/Regina (5)
  • Roup/Regina (5)
  • Risek/Rhylanor (7) 🔀
  • Celaphina/Rylanor (6)
  • L'oeul d'Dieu/Aramis (5)
  • Aramis/Aramis (5)
  • Margesi/Rhylanor (5)