• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Range bands and square grid activity

jlcapps

SOC-1
I'm new to Traveller and am having some trouble reconciling a couple of seemingly contradictory passages in The Traveller Book.

In the Personal Combat chapter, beneath the MOVEMENT heading, we get the explanation of ranges bands, "each representing approximately 25 meters." Three paragraphs later: "Characters may move one band per combat round if walking or two if running; animals may move faster, as covered in the chapter on animal encounters."

The range bands chart and the notes that accompany it on page 47 repeat this information and elaborate: "On square girds, one square should generally equal 1.5 meters. Other proportional values are also possible.

"One range band is approximately 17 squares (at 1.5 meters per square)."

That all adds up and makes sense to me.

However, in the Personal Combat chapter, beneath the WEAPONS USAGE heading (p.38) we are told:

Square Grid Activity: Many deck plans, floor plans, or other maps for Traveller are drawn with a square grid, usually representing squares of 1.5 meters each. If grids of this or similar scales are used, then changes should be made to the range band system. Walking speed is 8 squares per combat round. Running is 16 squares per combat round. Greater speeds are in multiples of 8 squares per combat round. Specific activities such as opening doors or hatches each take one combat round, during which time the individual should be treated as evading.