• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Starting a new Traveller campaign.

Hello all,

I'm new to the Traveller system, but thought I'd share the development of my upcoming campaign with you to get some good feedback, and generally just have people to bounce ideas off of that aren't my players.

I'll start by saying that while I haven't ever played Traveller (in any incarnation), I have been gaming since the late 80's. I cut my teeth on the old Basic D&D black box (with the red dragon on the cover) and have recently been running a campaign using Fantasy Flight Games new Warhammer Fantasy RP system of which I a big fan. I'd say that my preferred style of play falls somewhere between the old school (random encounter tables, percentile die rolls, random character creation) and the newer school (cards, tokens and other shiny components used to support whatever I'm playing). What with my Warhammer campaign winding down and wanting to take a break from the fantasy genre for a bit, I decided to look into science fiction games and happened upon Traveller.

In addition to the above, I've also just watched the entire Firefly series for the first time and am absolutely enamored with the whole setting....and so have decided to model my own Traveller campaign after a combination of the Firefly/Serenity setting and some of my other favorite Sci-fi, including the Alien universe.

I've decided to use the Mongoose published rules as they seem the easiest to pick up without having to use the bland and boring d20 rules-set, and they have a distinctly old-school feel that I've been craving of late.