• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Was the Rebellion as a setting sustainable?

Iracundus

SOC-10
Just looking purely at the Rebellion (so forget about Virus), could it have gone on indefinitely? By that I mean the Imperium fracturing into a bunch of smaller sized states, and these states enduring generations into the future as separate entities, maybe some still nominally claiming the now meaningless title of Emperor and sometimes sparring. It could be a bit like post-Roman Europe or China's Warring States, or like Battletech's Succession Wars.

I admit I am a newbie so this may have all been hashed out years ago or a flamebait topic before but I am interested in knowing more about this particular era (and why some seem to hate it so). Obviously for those that liked a monolithic stable Imperium they would dislike it. I would think that for those that like their pockets of safe space, the cores of each Rebellion state could still give that feel, while those that want more conflict can go to the edges or space between the states.

Note: I am talking only of the Rebellion and only in terms of setting, not rules. So no Virus, no real world issues of layout, errata, or clunky rules.

Some of the factions started employing black war/salted earth tactics very early, so the pace of the early Rebellion was not sustainable. Hard Times could have conceivably gone on for some time beyond the two or so years it did, but even 12 years in there was enough fire in the bellies of several faction leaders that they would have continued to snipe and ravage until someone got in a kill shot, knocking the number of factions down one by one.