• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Differences between 0 and 1 level skills when you gain another level.

That isn't how the learning process actually works. (I used to do this for a living.)

You are assuming that the character with shop training in high school got quality training AND retained it. The character that never held a wrench has no bad habits to unlearn. That matters - it matters A LOT.

I used to teach both hard and soft skills in the US Army. The best students were inevitably the ones that had no prior knowledge:

1. They had no bad habits to unlearn.
2. They knew that they had no prior knowledge, therefore they paid attention.
3. Due to their lack of prior knowledge, their brain didn't unconsciously short-circuit the learning process. (This is a major issue in education, right up there with the "Some people learn by listening, some by seeing, others by doing" nonsense.)

It's even worse in BRM (Basic Rifle Marksmanship). The worst shooters were those that shot a lot before they joined the military. What they learned growing up impeded their ability to fire their weapon, because of the muscle memory knowledge they had with the weapon they grew up with. "Kentucky windage" doesn't actually work on an assault rifle.

Oh, and that "finished early and learned more" in the military.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

The best students I've had in music were always the ones with prior education. So were the worst.

I was tied for the best shooter in my BT company; I'd been a competitive shooter in HS (and not even one of the best in my HS nor JROTC unit). Everyone else in the perfect scores on the range had been in cadet programs; several of us had competitive shooting experience. (All 5 of us had stripes in basic - PFCs all. Back when the Army paid you as, and let you wear, your stripes earned from cadet time during BT.)