• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Scrunched Known Space

Kilgs

SOC-14 1K
Baron
Has anyone experimented with making Known Space a smaller number of sectors? Just scrunching it all together so that Zhodani and K'kree can rub shoulders, the Aslan and Ithklur can duke it out in the streets etc.

Just an idle thought as I really like Glorious Empire material and was thinking how to fit in somewhere near Crucis Margin. Then I got to thinking (1hr commute each way) and thought about scrunching it all down. Because I've been messing around with Traveller for nearly twenty years and I've never been to the Spinward side... never met a Zhodani and they're kinda cool in a creepy, sanitary way.

-I won't expound on some other ideas for scrunching things together unless folks want to kick it around. But my commute can be long...

I've put colonies from some of the major races in places, and IMTU aliens are a tad more common (not to Star Wars level, more like TOS Star Trek level) so that there can be more interactions between everyone. I usually get players playing Vargr and Aslan so it all works out.

But yeah, looking at the maps and commute times means the major empires don't have a lot of comingling going on as is.

The Mongoose 2E Box Set The Great Rift has the Phobetor (Touchstone 2333) system, Though an isolated system, it is a important starting point for exploration campaigns. It is the only star system that got it's own poster map besides the sector maps in the set and some 20-25 pages are devoted to it. To show how important it is in the Box Set.

Why should you care?
The system has Humans, a minor race (the Ascondi), VARGR AND K'KREE ! With hungry Aslan itatei relatively nearby. The K'kree are only TL 3, but dont go into the woods alone (heh heh heh).