• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

What is Imperial Intelligence?

Hi,

I've been buying Traveller books for several years now (mostly GURPS, which I think are better written, but also some Mongoose as well) and I have been slowly constructing my own Traveller universe and storyline. This is mostly for my own amusement. I just like a few aspects of the setting.

I do have a question.

Many books refer frequently to Imperial Intelligence. When that term is thrown around, what is it referring to? Is it part of the IISS? Or the Ministry of State?

The only thing I'm sure of is that it is separate from Naval Intelligence.

Thank you again.

I would take that particular term in the same way we use our modern national terms. "Imperial Intelligence" is like "American Intelligence", instead of mapping to a specific agency.

Imperial intel agencies include parts of the IISS, parts of the Navy, parts of the Ministry of Justice (don't mess with the Special Branch), and other smaller or less obvious groups.

Many books refer frequently to Imperial Intelligence. When that term is thrown around, what is it referring to? Is it part of the IISS? Or the Ministry of State?

The only thing I'm sure of is that it is separate from Naval Intelligence.

Thank you again.

A lot depends which timeframe.

From Milieu Zero, we have the following agencies having some intelligence assets:
  • Imperial Naval Intelligence
  • Imperial Interstellar Scout Service — officially, the Intelligence Branch thereof; unofficially, also Recon Branch and Contact Branch [later Survey and Census], often by debriefs done by IISSIB.
  • Ministry of Justice: Some internal and counter-intelligence assets.
  • Each Vilani Bureaux. (Their pre-unification with the 3I intelligence arms are coordinating with other agencies)
  • Imperial University †
  • The Loyal Association of Pages ‡