• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Considering getting 5.10

islan

SOC-1
Hi, I am relatively new to Traveller, but not to RPG's in general. I know 5.10 has been contentious, with some saying it's quite useful as a toolkit and others saying it is unplayable. I've been squinting at the few videos of people flipping through it, trying to decipher if it was a good fit for me. Sadly this method could only take me so far, which is why I'm now making this post to go over what I'm sorta looking for that, my chief concern, as well as touching upon my tastes, in the hope that people with experience in these books can help set my expectations right.

1. I am in the market for a "textbook-like" reference manual. This seems to be a main sticking point for a lot of people with 5.10 (other than 5th edition's history of kickstarter disappointment, that is). I admit, the thing that attracted me to Traveller in the first place years ago was its minimalist graphic design in Classic. Not only is 5.10's B&W text-heaviness not a problem for me, but I could see it as a boon if it's actually a good reference manual. But that leads me to one of my chief concerns: