• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

What Programming Languages do you use?

What Programming Languages do you currently code in?

• Total voters

Leitz

SOC-14 1K
Admin Award
Baron
I'm seeing some potential for building the community within the community, if you're interested.

Addendum: I've probably missed a bunch, but am trying to focus on what we might collaborate on. If we can add languages let's do so.

Addendum #2 How could I have missed Javascript and SQL? Yikes! Trying to see if there's a way to add them to the poll.

Last edited:
Back in my day...

I can see you're not limiting to compiled languages so we're going broad here. I haven't been a dev for a long while now, but it's how I started in tech. I won't vote since I don't currently code, but this thread makes me smile.

Way back as an undergrad I messed with Fortran and Pascal. And BASIC of course. Later when I finally got into tech as a coder I did Visual Basic, C#, and for the web HTML, CSS, JS and ASP. I also worked with SQL, XSLT, and briefly touched Ruby before I switched to Human Computer Interaction work as I got into MS and PhD stuff programs to that.

If you're looking to form a coding group, good on you and best of luck. If you're looking to form a we-make-software group, in life I'm a principal user experience architect and "available as a resource." ;)

I don't currently code either, but I have coded in AmigaBASIC and VAX Pascal, along with Quick Pascal.

There might be rumors I programmed in Quick C... before OO and ++ and I hated it. Oops.

I've played around with most programming languages, just like I have with most RPG game mechanics. FORTRAN77 was my first go-to language for random-generated Traveller stuff. I wish Python was around back then. I don't bother with any other programming languages anymore.