• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

New Rome

Lots of good stuff, Xerxes. This is me nodding vehemently at most of it. A couple things I want to talk about, though.

have you removed traveller jump drives entirely, then? Again, that would change the standard assumptions quite a lot. if ships effectivly only need to carry P plant fuel, it means they are much more capable than the standard traveller designs.

I didn't remove anything. I just never added them. ;)

No, there are no Traveller jump drives IMTU. Just sungates/wormholes.

Forgive me, as I'm pretty new to Traveller (but I've read a lot in a short time). What is "P plant fuel" and what is the consequence of what you're implying?

then again, by standard MgT rules, Nova Roma can only build ships up to 50,000 Dtons anyway, due to tech-imposed computer limits. Nova Roma's largest battleship would be a simmilar size to low end heavy cruser of the third imperium.

A rival, TL 10 polity could only build 10,000 Dton ships, and a TL9 early jump civ is limited to 5,000 Dtons by comp limits. Low TL traveller is practically a Small Ship Universe!

Remember, speed is not limited by mass or size (and acceleration is essentially a non-concept). Shields are. Once you have a shield around something, no matter how large, a hackdrive with clock X can move it around at speed X, regardless of mass.

I picture my ships as really huge. As technology improves, they might get smaller, but right now, New Rome needs to move people around quickly. These are huge ships. I haven't played with the ship rules enough to know what "huge" means in Traveller terms yet.

Also, bear in mind that Traveller's standard gravtic M-drives give you reasonable speeds and travel times and fuel economy. A zero/zero trip of 1 AU at 1G is less than 3 days, and only 28 hours at 6G.