• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

System Sustainability

Bartleby

SOC-12
I was working on MTU and wanted to invent a TL level at which a planet could be 100% sustainable, regardless of planet type.

So, ignoring terraforming for a moment, if a planet of a million people lived on an airless moon, or corrosive ball of rock, there would likely be a TL where they could produce all the food and resources they require without the need of imports.

Is anyone aware of a reference in one of the many versions of Traveller where this is spelled out?

So a TL high enough that they can have a box that provides all the air, water, food, waste removal, temperature control, light, and anything else needed for life forever without any input from outside the box. Wow. I admit, you have me curious now. I do not remember such a magical system but I am far from an expert on all versions of Traveller so I am looking forward to the answers.

So a TL high enough that they can have a box that provides all the air, water, food, waste removal, temperature control, light, and anything else needed for life forever without any input from outside the box. Wow. I admit, you have me curious now. I do not remember such a magical system but I am far from an expert on all versions of Traveller so I am looking forward to the answers.
Actually I said "invent" but I meant "decide". I think the highest tech levels as written would be able to most of your list.

there would likely be a TL where they could produce all the food and resources they require without the need of imports.
You have discovered ... TL=9 ...
By TL–9 Bioregenerative Life Support has been developed. Bioregenerative Life Support is the goal of systems on airless worlds, where the biosystem recycles all wastes and provides all needed food and oxygen.