• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Cyberspace/Netrunning in Traveller

Quint

SOC-13
Baronet
So, I'm getting ready to restart MTU (again) and have really been debating moving back to some version of the Traveller engine from the CP2020 rules that I've been using for the last 30 years or so.

The question I have is what have other people been doing (if anything) to cover more cyberpunkish "Netrunning" (direct neural interface to the Internet) rather than basic Computer hacking. I know I'm not going to use TNE or GT, so I'm less interested in solutions the derive from those engines (if I have to adapt that much I'll just use CP2020).

I like what the TV show Intelligence has been suggesting, and at the same time I think I could mine Person of Interest for some ideas as well. But I also want something that gives that same sort of netrunning flavor for those hi-tech planets that have the infrastructure.

D.

I don't have the resources that others do, but in what I do have there is much evidence to support each system being unique and doing things the way they want.

I'm not aware of any reason a TL12 item would be compatible with the TL12 network in another system let alone on a TL9 or TL15

Just something to think about. Some of the shows you mention have not had to deal with this type of issue. Imagine a smart phone working in the non wireless world of just 30 years ago. It probably wouldn't even work with the wireless networks of just 15 years ago.

Last edited:
I don't have the resources that others do, but in what I do have there is much evidence to support each system being unique and doing things the way they want.