• Welcome to the new COTI server. We've moved the Citizens to a new server. Please let us know in the COTI Website issue forum if you find any problems.

Thinking about Personal Combat for T5

robject

SOC-14 10K
Admin Award
Marquis
Combat in Traveller5

I seek the impossible combat system. The fact that is is impossible doesn't stop me from seeking it.

Traveller's rules are primarily about choice and consistency, more or less depending on which part of the system you're working with. So should be combat.

Who Are You?

Three different creative agendas are: consistency; nuanced characters; a good story. I tend to go for nuance and consistency, sometimes in that order of importance. You'll have a different order and emphasis. I am not "narrativist", but, I have no real knowledge of weapons, and have little time for gaming.

In short, I am a good play-tester for combat in some ways, but also an unsuitable play-tester for combat in other ways.

ROB'S CURRENT RULES (EDIT #7)

Setup: Tactics Mod (not a pool) rolled by character with highest Tactics skill, per T5.

This is the T5.09 section on Tactics.

WHO GOES FIRST? Is moved to here.

THE COMBAT ROUND

1. Sitrep by referee.
2. Decision. Each player states his characters' action:

- Evade. Character may not make any attacks or parries. +2D difficulty to being hit.
- Move. Character may open or close distance to opponents, and may attack or parry.
- Operate a Vehicle, Heavy Weapons, Explosives, etc. Character may not make other attacks or parries.
- Take Cover.

T5.09 Cover and Concealment, heavily modified for the following:

If taking cover behind sufficient protection, the character may be attacked at +2D difficulty. If cover is merely concealing him, then the character makes an average Stealth roll each turn to remain hidden. If the Stealth roll fails, he may be attacked that round at a +1D difficulty.

If taking cover before combat, he may not be attacked
until he reveals his position by making an attack.